My Musical Conversion

As someone who has spent the majority of her life involved in choir and band, music has been a big part of my life. Like many people I constantly have the radio on in the car, earbuds in at the gym, and music blasting in my room.

Who doesn’t right?

Growing up I never had a particular taste in music. Like many other aspects of life, I saw music preference as a way to “fit in” with a particular group of people. So my “favorite” songs were often the exact ones listed on the weekends Top 40 or iTunes Top 10.

Right about now you may be asking, “What’s wrong with popular music?”

The answer is twofold:

1. The Message

Sadly, in today’s society, music is used to reflect the deteriorating morals. Crude language and sexual phrases send the message that these sins are perfectly okay, and even normal. Young kids often grow up not really understanding what certain lyrics mean, but their innocence is still obliterated because they slowly develop a lack of respect for true beauty and purity. Of course this rule is not without its exceptions. Many songs which portray a good message have become popular over the years, yet the majority have grown increasing worse in terms of the message they send.

2. Fear of Unacceptance

Secondly, in a many cases, our taste in music is often shaped by the secular world. For me, I was constantly trying to listen to the stations and songs all my friends listened to so I could “fit in.” As I grew older and became more confident with myself, I began to listen to more of the songs I liked. I switched from Pop and Rap to Country, and eventually to Praise & Worship. Yet I was still embarrassed and would quickly switch the station whenenver someone else joined me in the car.

I have come along way in how I view myself. Rather than feeling the need to conform, I am my own person. I listen to what I like, and what I like is Praise & Worship. (Accompanied occasionally by other genres).

Why do I like Praise & Worship so much?

1. Focus on God

As we go through out our busy days, it is so easy to forget about living our lives for God. Hearing songs praising the Lord keeps me focused in what us truly important in life, God.

2. Calming

As someone who often suffers from anxiety, I find great peace in worshiping God. So when I get to be overwhelmed I just turn on one if my favorite Pandora stations and continue on with what I’m doing, often in a more relaxed manner.

3. Mood

When I listen to a song that is uplifting and glorifying God, I am bound to be in a better mood than if I were listening to a song that was degrading and immoral.

Now I do not judge people who don’t share my live of Christian music. I have simply found that it helps me to live a more theocentric lifestyle. It’s that constant reminder when I’m driving, working out, studying, etc that all I really need to worry about is pleasing God.

Thanks for Reading & God Bless!

Lucia J. Francisco

Leave a Reply

