An Answered Prayer

Every child has ideas of what they want to be when they grow up. There are the stereotypical girly fantasies of becoming a princess or a pop star, and the boyish dreams of being a race car driver or whatever other fun jobs are out there. When I was a little girl, I know I had these silly, unrealistic fantasies. I mean, we can’t all be Kate Middleton & marry a prince! However, we can have the perfect job that God has called us to.

When I was in 5th grade, I had an amazing teacher. She was so kind and had so many cute ideas to encourage us to work harder and behave well. I learned a lot in her class. I also discovered that I wanted to grow up and become an elementary teacher just like her. I wanted to be able to be kind and inspiring. For the next few years, this seemed like the perfect job, until I discovered there might be something else out there for me.

I love theatre. I discovered my passion for the stage in 5th grade when I was a munchkin in The Wizard of Oz. It was so fun and it began my years of the theatre program. My freshman year of high school I realized that I would love to spend the rest of my life on stage. Broadway, to be exact. I wanted it badly for a while, but eventually I realized that God wasn’t calling me to make a career out of my love of the stage, but rather a hobby. So the search for my future career continued.

Trying to figure out what to do with my life became a problem for me my sophomore year. I was so stressed out that I didn’t have any ideas, and all of my family and friends responded by saying that I was only a sophomore, and that I would figure it out. But I had no desire to wait! I wanted to know right now. I still had thoughts of being an elementary teacher, but when I had voiced that desire, one of my friends responded with “You’re too smart for that.” That response made me anxious and upset. What was I supposed to do now? I felt like there was something else out there that I just didn’t know about yet. I started to pray.

Every night I began asking God to show me what I was supposed to be when I grow up. Every time I thought about being an elementary teacher, something was holding me back from fully committing to it. Maybe it was that friend’s comment. Maybe it was simply my own anxiety. I don’t know what it was, but I know that I got my answer.

The man I was babysitting for was driving me home one evening when he was asking me about what I wanted to go to college for. I told him that I was thinking about elementary education, but I just wasn’t sure because I felt like there might be something bigger that I just didn’t know about yet. Then he responded by telling me that elementary education was important because it was where everything started. Elementary teachers are the people who shape kids into who they turn out to be. He told me that he still remembered some of his elementary teachers. This really struck me. I was afraid to commit to elementary education because I wanted to make a difference in the world. I was worried because elementary teachers don’t save lives like doctors or firemen. They don’t end up on billboards like celebrities. They don’t make very much money. And they don’t cause an immediate change in the world. But despite all of these things, I knew that I could make a difference if I became an elementary teacher. I could help & inspire children, and I was excited to do so.

So, if you’re trying to find out what to do with your life, don’t worry about it! God will answer your prayers at the right time. He will give you exactly what you need, and exactly what you are supposed to do. He will show you the way, if you give all your worries & anxieties up to Him.

Keep on praying,
Cecilia Liz ❤

Leave a Reply

