Discernment. Pray about it.

I am a woman in discernment. If you are not sure what discernment is please check previous posts by other authors and it will give you some back ground info! 🙂

My discernment is to be married or to have a spiritual life(For example a nun). For every person it is different. Some people always know they are called to be a mom or called to be a nun. Other people are the complete opposite and haven’t know and then feel the call. It is different for every person. Personally I have always felt called to be a mom and a wife. I have never had any doubt in my mind that I shouldn’t be a mom. I have never felt God saying you should be a nun. I have always felt a call to be a mother. I love children and have always dreamed of getting older and raising a large family in a strong Catholic household. Maybe this is because I never grew up in a strong one. When I was a kid I went to Mass twice a year and sometimes around the time of my CCD class. I want to give my children the opportunity in the faith. I also feel a calling to adopt children. I know I want to have children of my own, but I also know I want to have a huge family and adopt kids to give them a loving family. I feel that when I adopt I can be the light to my child and help them. Though I will never force my adopted children into my faith, I will ask them to try and become religious, but if after they try they don’t want to then they don’t have to. I want to get married to a man that is strong in the Catholic religion. I know he is out there and I will find him. One passage that talks about marriage is Ephesians 5: 21-33.

Now it is time to live your discernment. First thing you should do is remain pure. No, I don’t mean not kissing or hugging, I mean no sex. I don’t care if in two days you are getting married, NO sex before marriage. I personally think that the cutest thing ever is when a husband and wife turn their purity rings into crosses for their wedding day. I want a purity ring so badly. You should be pure for your wedding day. Sex was made by God for married couples to one procreate and two bind the couple physically. With sex in a marriage you are giving them everything not part of you all of you. I can’t fully explain it yet because I am not at that point in my life yet. if you check out lifeteen they have more on it.

Dating or as I like to call it trying to find my future husband, haha. Dating is so much harder when you are in high school because some people haven’t matured yet. I personally haven’t had a boyfriend and don’t really plan on it till college. I feel for me high school is my time to be me and do stuff for me. I want to become the best I can be. I mean I will go on a date if someone asks me and I might date someone if the right person comes along. I just don’t want to be in a relationship for the heck of it. If I am going to get a boyfriend I want it to last. I am not looking for short term really. I honestly used to want a boyfriend so badly and then I just realized I get him when he comes into my life for now its time to live and have fun(not like drinking or smoking)but like going swimming at 1 in the morning because I can.

Pursuing marriage is when you realize that you want to marry this person. I don’t really know what this is like with never have being in love before but if you are thinking about marrying someone just make sure you really care about them. Can you spend every single day with this person? Are you two able to work through things? Do you have a healthy relationship? For example, do little fights blow over and do y’all love eachother more that fight? I feel like if it is the right person then you will know. at least that is what I have been told.

Discernment can be very very confusing but you just gotta listen to God. God has a path for you choose to take it. Don’t just pray about it listen for God’s anwser. You will just know. Also when you think God is choosing something for you make sure you explore it more and see if it is for you but if you pray about it God will show you the light.

Leave a Reply

