I Confess

“I absolve you of your sins in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Spirit. Amen. Go in peace.”

Confession. The dreaded, scary, terrifying Confession. Or is it? Is it really all that scary to give all of your mistakes up to God and be given peace & absolution? I don’t think so. In fact, I love Confession. It is so refreshing, and leaves me feeling strong and renewed. And sometimes, something extra special happens.

I was at a Steubenville conference. It was Saturday night and we were breaking for dinner. As soon as the last speech was finished, I rushed to get in line for confession. I had never gone to confession at one of the conferences before, and was excited to have the “Steubenville experience.” Little did I know God was about to give me that experience.

Anyone who has ever gone to Steubenville knows that the Confession line can seem almost interminable, but I was blessed to get in the line before it was too long. As I waited in the line, I had a hard time concentrating on doing a good examination of conscience. I had just gone to confession of few days before, so I wasn’t really expecting too much. After about 15 minutes, it was my turn. I went to the confessional where a priest I had never seen before was sitting. He gave me a big smile, and then my confession began. When I was all finished confessing my sins, he told me I was beautiful. Attractive, even. This made me feel so happy, because, as many teenagers do, I suffered from self esteem issues. He continued by saying that when we are angry at someone it is usually because they don’t live up to our expectations for them, and that the cure for this anger is gratitude. Instead of getting angry at someone for one thing, we should be thankful because of another. He told me that if I became more grateful, I would became even more beautiful. After receiving my penance & absolution, I walked out of the confessional, looked up at the sky, and thanked The Lord.

Through the priest, Jesus had given me everything I never knew I needed. I was so happy the rest of the night, and was so blessed. God answered a pray I didn’t know I had said through that priest in the confessional.

So, I love Confession. It is such a beautiful sacrament that allows you to start anew. I encourage you all to go to Confession as often as possible, so that you can know peace.

God bless,

Cecilia Liz❤

Leave a Reply

