Light of Love

“I’m living for eternity and I can start that now.”

If you don’t know already, the documentary by Imagine Sisters Movement called Light of Love came out this past Sunday (Sept 8).  It’s an one hour long movie displaying the lives of five Sisters from five different Communities and having them talk about it.  I’ve currently watched it twice so far and both times, I can tell there is something different about them.  Not that they don’t wear the same clothes you and I by wearing a habit but because there is an overwhelming sense of peace in their appearance and their face lights up when they talk about the Lord.  It’s so beautiful!

What I thought was really cool was watching all of the Sisters participate in their apostolates (work or ministry).  These lovely Sisters’ apostolates ranged from hospitals to thrift shop to schools. It shows how active the sisterhood can be and not many people know about that.

Probably the moment that had the most impact for me was the story of an exchange between Sr. Carrie Ann from Franciscan TOR of Penance of the Sorrowful Mother and a lady whose mother had just passed away:

Sr. Carrie Ann: “Do you want me to pray with you?”
Lady: “No I’m an Atheist.”
Sr. Carrie Ann: “So if you’re an atheist, then you don’t believe in Heaven?”
Lady: “No I don’t.
Sr. Carrie Ann:  “So that means you don’t have any hope?”
Lady: “You’re right, I don’t have any hope.”

Then the Lord spoke to Sr. Carrie Ann saying, “Meet her where she is.” This is how we are Christ to others. Meet them where they are!

There were many more great moments in this film and I don’t want to tell too much but I wanted to share what the movie was mainly about as well as a favorite moment of mine. If you have not seen it I would highly recommend it! I want to end this post with something that you all can pray and reflect about. It comes from Sr. Maria from Servants of the Lord and the Virgin of Matara and she says, “There is no place for vocation if there is selfishness.”

Stay His,

Faustina Bernadette

Leave a Reply

