I Thirst

Jesus had some great sayings. He had some of the most inspirational quotes of all time. However, there are two words that come to mind that show his love most of all, I THIRST.

“After this, aware that everything was now finished, in order that scripture might be fulfilled, Jesus said, ‘I thirst’”. This verse comes from the book of John Chapter 19, verse 28. This verse happens to be the paragraph before the last breath of Jesus. Which means that the statement, “I thirst”, is one of the last words spoken by Jesus. It is interesting that John, of all of the gospels, includes this phrase. Matthew and Mark say that they gave Him wine mixed with spices, and Luke doesn’t mention this in his gospel. But John, who was at the foot of the cross, chooses to include the statement, “I thirst”.

Now what does that mean? Was he thirsty from the journey?  He did just carry a heavy cross up a hill. He is 100% human so this statement would make sense. I know that after a hard workout that I really need fluids.

But this phrase means so much more than that. To thirst in the medical world means to lack fluids, to crave them, or to be dehydrated.  So God is now dehydrated….for what? In the middle of the verse it says, in order that scripture might be fulfilled. Lets look at Psalm 69 versus 21-22 which says, “Insult has broken my heart, and I despair. I looked for compassion, but there was none, for comforters, but found none. Instead, they gave me poison for my food, and for my thirst, they gave me vinegar.” Now it’s starting to sound a little familiar. Lets take a step back from this. Jesus, the son of God, searched for compassion, for comfort,  and for love. Instead, the soldiers gave Him poison, wine mixed with gall, for His thirst (so the other gospels do help us out!). How about we substitute our names in for the soldiers. Instead of compassion, comfort, love, I ______ gave Him poison, and wine mixed with gall (SIN). No wonder he was so tired and no wonder why he thirsts so much.

Jesus Christ thirsts for OUR love, OUR compassion, OUR comfort. He is dehydrated for our love. He thirsts for our compassion, he craves for our comfort. But how often do we give Him those? How often do we give Him something we’re not? The whole point of John 19:28 is how Jesus thirsts for us. Everything we are HE wants. Nothing in His eyes is unimportant.  Jesus is dehydrated for you. He cannot stand to go another day without you. He would go to the utmost extremes to prove that to you (cue the crucifixion).

The other aspect to look at is how we should thirst for Him. St. John tells us this in John 7:37 which says, “Come to me all you who thirst” . Do we have the  desire to know Him? Thirsting for Him is something that should not be taken lightly for He does not take it lightly. We need to be dehydrated for Christ to a point that everything we do is for Him. John 15:9 says, “as the father has loved me, so I have loved you. Live on in my love,” and Rev 3:20 also says, “behold I stand at the door and knock”. The signs are everywhere. He is dehydrated for our love. There is nothing that will stop Him from getting to us.

Mother Teresa said, “Jesus is God, therefore His love, His thirst is infinite. He is the creator of the universe, asked for the love of His creatures. He thirsts for our love. These words, “I thirst” Do they echo in our souls?”

May the love of Christ allow us to thirst even more perfectly to HIM,

With great Joy,

Vincent D

Leave a Reply

